top of page

Asian Oceanian Society of Neuropathology formed!

Updated: Dec 9, 2022

We are happy to announce that the formation of the Asian Oceanian Society of Neuropathology (AOSNP) was finalised in a meeting held on September 25th, 2021 in India, with participation of members from Japan, India, China, Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Korea, Jordan, Turkey, Malaysia and Philippines.

The office bearers of the AOSNP are:

1. Prof. Chitra Sarkar (India)- President 2. Prof. Catriona McLean (Australia)- Vice President 3. Prof. Takashi Komori (Japan)- Treasurer 4. Prof. Vani Santosh (India)- Secretary General

The office of the society will be in India for next 4 years (associated with the Neuropathology Society of India). The constitution and bye laws of the AOSNP are being drafted.

We are also happy to share that the ‘Asian Oceanian Congress of Neuropathology’ was held along with the ‘Annual Conference of Neuropathology Society of India’ (AOCN-NPSICON) on virtual mode from September 24th – 26th, 2021, hosted by the National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences, Bangalore, India. The congress saw 361 attendees from 20 countries. The event brought together pathologists, clinicians, and neuroscientists from all over Asia and Oceania with invited speakers from USA, Germany, and Canada. The program was very comprehensive and covered advances in the fields of neuro-oncology, neuromuscular disorders, epilepsy and neurodegenerative disorders through keynote addresses and symposia that featured 78 distinguished national and international faculty sharing their expertise. The next congress is planned in 2024 in Beijing, China.

Chitra Sarkar President AOSNP

Catriona McLean Vice President AOSNP

Takashi Komori Treasurer AOSNP

Vani Santosh Secretary General AOSNP

110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page